Dept. of Sports

Department Of Physical Education & Sport was established in 1969 Mr. A.L. Devkar was the first head of this department till 2002. Now Dr. Mahesh A. Bembade is head of this department since year 2004.


Our college has a tradition of providing an all-round development for students, by making available facilities for Physical Education and Sports activities.  The college has very good infrastructural facilities for Sports and related extra- curricular activities, which have been developed and have thrived over the years.  There have been additions to and renovations of these facilities from time to time, for indoor and outdoor games and also for the traditional Indian games.

1.Gymkhana Facilities :-

A)    Outdoor Games:-

One large ground, referred to as the main ground (ground No.1) and a relatively smaller ground (ground No.2) is situated on the front of Dayanand Science College building.

Cricket, football, athletics and baseball is played on the main ground and has matting wicket for cricket. We are going to develop turf wicket in the end of year 2013.  All the tournaments of Inter collegiate and Inter School are conduct on this ground.

There are two volleyball courts, Two Lawn tennis courts, Two Kho-Kho courts and one Kabddi courts on ground No.-2.  We are going to develop A Basketball court on the same ground.

B)    Indoor Games:-

One Badminton hall with four courts and Gym facilities is available for the students. Three Table tennis tables are provided for the students in this same hall.

Carrom and chess boards for these games are provided to students in the college building.

2.Organized Events:-

  • 2005-06 Coaching camp of Inter University Cricket (men) Tournament participating team of S.R.T.M.Uni. Nanded.
  • 2006-07 Coaching camp of Inter University Cricket (men) Tournament participating team of S.R.T.M.Uni. Nanded.
  • 2007-08 ‘A’ zone Inter collegiate Table-Tennis and Badminton Tournament.
  • 2009-10 ‘A’ zone Inter collegiate cricket Tournament.
  • 2010-11 ‘A’ zone Inter collegiate cricket Tournament
  • 2010-11 Inter zonal cricket Tournament.
  • 2010-11 Coaching camp of IUT Participating Cricket (men) Team of SRTMU.Nanded.
  • 2012-13 Central zone Inter collegiate Mallkhamb Tournament.
  • 2012-13 Coaching camp of IUT Cricket Team of SRTMU Nanded.
  • 2013-14 ‘A’ zone Inter collegiate Volleyball (Men) Tournament.
  • 2013-14 Central Zone Inter collegiate Mallkhamb Tournament.

3. Achievements:-

Team Event :-

  • 2009-10 Winner of ‘A’ Zone Inter Collegiate Table Tennis Tournament.
  • 2009-10 Runner up of ‘A’ Zone Inter Collegiate Badminton Tournament.
  • 2009-10 Runner up ‘A’ Zone Inter Collegiate Chess Tournament.
  • 2010-11 Winner of ‘A’ Zone Inter collegiate Chess Tournament.
  • 2011-11 Runner up of ‘A’ Zone Inter Collegiate Table Tennis Tournament.
  • 2012-13 Winner of ‘A’ Zone Inter Collegiate Cricket (Men) Tournament.

Individual Events :-

  • 2006-07 Shri. Suryawanshi Balaji Shankar was the winner of open group Weight lifting Tournament at central zone.
  • 2008-09 Shri. Ravindra Bhimrao Yenkure was winner of 100m Running, 200m Running, Long Jump and Tripple Jump at ‘A’ Zone Athletics Tournament.
  • 2008-09 Shri. Ravindra Bhimrao Yenkure was the winner of triple Jump at Inter Zone Athletics Tournament.
  • 2011-12 Shri. Aade Arjun Babu was Runner up of 58 to 62 kg Taekwondo Tournament at central zone.
  • 2012-13 Shri. Jagtap Vishal Tanajirao was the Runner up of 56 to 60 kg Boxing Tournament at Central zone.

4. List Of IUT Participated Students:-

Sr. No. Name Of Students Event Year


Dhanorkar Renuka Narsing Basketball 2004-05


Gudle Jyoti Janardhan Volleyball 2005-06


Raiphale Nagnath Gurunath Basketball 2006-07


Suryawanshi Balaji Shankar Weight lifting 2006-07


Shaikh Firoj Rajaksaheb Ball Badminton 2007-08


Gajbhare Vilas Shrirangrao Basketball 2007-08


Yenkure Ravindra Bhimrao Athletics 2008-09


Shaikh Firoj Rajaksaheb Ball Badminton 2009-10


Istalkar Dinesh Bharat Cricket 2010-11


Shaikh Firoj Rajaksaheb Ball Badminton 2010-11


Dhotre Nitin Ramdas Baseball 2010-11


Mali Nikhil Ishwar Chess 2010-11


Patwadkar Maruti Vinayak Cross-country 2010-11


Istalkar Dinesh Bharat Cricket 2011-12


Jatal Pravin Venkatrao Cricket 2012-13

Faculty Members

002_Sports_017-Prof.-Dr.-Bembade-Mahesh-Anantrao Name: Dr. M. A. Bembade
Designation: Dirt.of Phy.Edu.
Qualification: M.P.Ed., M.Phil., Ph.D.
Bio-data: Download Here

 002_Sports_Shri.-Shinde-Dnyaneshwar-Gunvant Name:  Shinde Dnyaneshwar Gunvant
Designation:  Peon (Temporary)
Qualification:  B.A.

Evaluation Report
Download Department Evaluation Report

Photo Gallery
[nggallery id=17]