Dayanand Science College is one of the few single faculty science colleges in the Marathwada Region. The Department of Physics was established in the year 1961.The department has its large contribution in the development of the college. Department of Electronics and Department of Computer Science were established in 1978 and 1999 under the umbrella of this department presently they are working as separate departments. Following were the HODs who contributed their valuable services to the Department of Physics.

Shri. S.V. Bhide 1961-1962
Shri. A.B.Shah 1962-1964
Shri. K.H. Purohit 1964-1967
Shri. R.H. Ladda 1967-2000
Shri. S.H. Jaju 2000-2006
Shri. S.V. Deshmukh 2006-2010
Shri. K.N. Rathod 2010-2016

From 2016, Shri. Dr. L.V. Thakre is leading the department as Head.

Shri. K.H. Purohit continued the office of HOD till he was appointed as the first Principal of the independent Dayanand Scinece College in 1967. He initiated the development of the infrastructure of Laboratory as well as the academics. In 1967, Shri. R.H. Ladda took the charge of HOD. He continued the development of the department under the dynamic leadership and guidance of Principal K.H. Purohit. In the tenure of Shri. R.H. Ladda the department progressed vertically and horizontally. In the year 1978, a new applied subject “Electronics” was started as one of the optional subjects at UG level. Shri. R.S. Namjoshi, Shri. S.H. Jaju and Shri. S.V. Deshmukh took immense efforts in establishing the Laboratory of Electronics. The college was one of the only two colleges, offering Electronics at UG level in the Marathwada University, Aurangabad at that time.

In establishing and developing the Computer centre Prof. S.V. Deshmukh and faculty of the Dept. has taken enormous effects.
The staff members, who have contributed to the department with their noteworthy services and retired, are Shri. R.S. Namjoshi, Shri. P.V. Kulkarni, Shri. S.H. Jaju, Shri. A.D. Kalkote, Shri. S.V. Deshmukh They all were excellent teachers in their subjects.
While in the office of HOD, Shri. R.H. Ladda was appointed as the third Principal of the college. After his retirement as Principal and HOD, Shri. S.H. Jaju took over the charge of HOD in the year 2000. He was assisted by Shri. S.V. Deshmukh as I/C HOD of Electronics and Computer Science.
After that the Department is now housed in a new building of Laboratory Complex and is headed by Shri. K.N. Rathod. He is assisted by Dr.V.A. Chaudhari, Dr. V.D. Mote, Miss. S.D. Lokhande and five more faculty members on C.H.B.

Name: Dr. V. A. Chaudhari
Designation: Assi.Prof
Qualification: M.Sc., Ph.D.
Bio-data: Download Here
Name: Dr. V. D. Mote
Designation: Assistant Professor & Research Guide
Qualification: M.Sc., Ph.D.
Bio-data: Download Here
Name: Miss. Lokhande S.D.
Designation: Assistant professor
Qualification: M.Sc., SET
Bio-data: Download Here
Name: Dr. Mirikar S. A.
Designation: C.H.B. Lect.
Qualification: M.Sc., B.Ed., Ph.D.
Bio-data: Download Here
Name: Mr. Kathwate L.H.
Designation: C.H.B. Lect.
Qualification: M.Sc., B.Ed., Gate
Bio-data: Download Here
      Name: Mr. Sarage O.H.
Designation: C.H.B. Lect.
Qualification: M.Sc. SET, PET
Bio-data: Download Here
        Name: Mr. Satpute J.C.
Designation: C.H.B. Lect.
Qualification: M.Sc., B.Ed.
Bio-data: Download Here
Name: Miss. Deshmukh R.R.
Designation: C.H.B. Lect.
Qualification: M.Sc.
Bio-data: Download Here


Name:  Shri. Sarje Sudharshan Chatrabhuj
Designation:  Lab.Assistant
Qualification:  B.A.
Name:  Shri. Kendre Babu Dhondiram
Designation:  Lab.Attendant
Qualification:  7th Class.
Name: Shri. Pawar Rajaram Sitaram
Designation: Lab.Attendant.
Qualification: S.S.C.
UG Program : B.Sc. (Physics)
PG Program : M.Sc. (Physics)
Other activities| Educational tour at Research Institutes for P.G. students.
| Seminars
| Research related M.Sc Projects.
| Educational tour at Sterlite Company, Aurangabad – 2016.
| Educational tour at Indian Institute of Geo Magnetism Center (IIGM), Alibagh – 2017.
| Conducted IAPT-NGPE Exam from 2014.
| SET, NET, PET & IIT JAM Classes.Co-curricular Activities conducted by the Department
| Refresher Course entitled “Nuclear Physics & Quantum Mechanics” at Dayanand Science College, Latur – 2016.Research Center and LaboratoriesThin Film and Material Science Research Laboratory Recognized from SRTM University, Nanded, Maharashtra

Research Guide:-

Sr. No. Name of Research Guide No. of Students University Research Area
1. Dr. J.S. Dargad 04 SRTMU, Nanded Dilute Magnetic Semiconductors, Thin Films
2. Dr. L.V. Thakre 01 SRTMU, Nanded Laser & Thin Films
3. Dr. V.A. Chaudhari Nil SRTMU, Nanded Nil
4. Dr. V. D. Mote Nil SRTMU, Nanded Nanoparticles, Dilute Magnetic Semiconductors,Thin Films, Super Conductivity

List of research equipments procured through various funding agencies:

Sr. No. Name of Equipment Funding Agencies
1. UV Photo spectrometer DST
2. Spray Pyrolysis UGC
3. CBD [Chemical Bath Deposition] DST
4. Distilled Water Plant DST
5. LCRQ Meter UGC
6. Weight Measurement Unit DST
7. SILAR Thin Film Deposition Unit DST
8. Magnetic Stirrer DST
9. HOT Plate DST
10. Vacuum Oven DST
11. Spin Coater DST
12. Digital Nanometer DST

Evaluation Report

Download Department Evaluation Report