Dept. of Languages

The Department of Languages was established in 1961, with the establishment of the college. It is constituted of following three departments.
1. Department of Marathi
2. Department of Hindi
3. Department of English

Apart from imparting the academic knowledge of Marathi, Hindi and English, the Department takes keen interest and efforts to develop communication skills of the students. It has provided a platform ‘Literary and Cultural Association’ through which the students are promoted for their holistic development. The Association organizes the speeches of eminent writers and poets which inculcate values among the students. The faculty motivates the students to participate in various kinds of competitions at different levels. The Department takes initiative to organize various competitions like debate, elocution, poetry recitation, extempore on the occasion of annual gathering. The staff’s contribution in publishing ‘Unmesh’ the yearly magazine of the college is noteworthy.

Department of Marathi:

Following eminent persons headed the department.

Shri. Narendra Chapalgaonkar 1961 – 1962
Dr. Chandrakant Deolgaonkar 1962 – 1967
Shri. Prabhakar Kulkarni  1967 – 1991
Dr.Sidram Katare 1991 – 2017
Dr.Ramshetti Rajendra Shetkar 2017 – till date

Shri. Narendra Chapalgaonkar worked as the first HOD of the department. He left the college and joined Judiciary. He was the High Court Judge in the Aurangabad bench of Bombay Court, Mumbai.His contribution in the field of Marathi literature and language is precious.

Dr. Chandrakant Deolgaonkar took the charge of HOD in 1962. He took enormous efforts to cultivate the study and interest of literature among the students. His Ph.D. thesis “Manmath Swami Vyakti ani Wangmaya” is thought provoking and one of the pillars of Marathi literature. He translated autobiography of honourable Shri. Shivraj Patil Chakurkar (M.P.) in to Marathi. Number of publications in Marathi are on his credit.

Shri. Prabhakar Kulkarni became the HOD in 1967. He worked hard to create keen interest among the students for Marathi literature and cultural programmes. He was an active member of Kalopasak Mandal. He has written “Harishchandra Akhyan”. He was an excellent teacher and was popular among the students of Science college as well as PG students of Arts college.

Dr. Sidram Katare took charge of HOD in 1991 after the retirement of Shri. P. S. Kulkarni.  He was actively involved in all the cultural and literary activities of college. He organized two day National Conference on Loksahityache Sanshodhan : Swaroop aani Disha on 25th & 26th Feb.2011.

Apart from academic development, Dr Sidram Katare  actively participated in social work. As a reward of social work, he was elected as member of Municipal Council, Latur. He was also elected as Chairman, Building and Construction Department of Municipal Council, Latur.Dr. R.R.Shetkar is leading the Department from 2017. He completed M.Phil in 2008 from S.R.T. M.University, Nanded. He was awarded the Ph.D. degree on ‘Marathi Kadimbaritil Tamasha Kalavantache Chitran: Ek Chikitsak Abhyas’ by the S.R.T. M.University, Nanded in 2015. His thirty four research papers have been published in varied literary research journals. He has participated in various seminars and conferences. He has authored two books and edited a book.

Department of Hindi :
The First HOD was Dr. P. V. Chamle (1965-2002). After her retirement, the post was filled on CHB. The following persons worked on CHB.:-

1.Miss. Anshumani Patil  2003-2004
2.Miss. Archana Shelke 2004-2005
3.Shri.Gopal Baheti  2005-2009
4.Miss. Neeta Dake   2009-2012
5.Shri. Gajanan Bane  2009-2012
6.Dr. Gajanan Bane  2012- till date (Full Time)

Prof. G.H. Bane is leading the Department as Head. From 2012. He has qualified NET- JRF.
He has completed his M.Phil. degree from S.R.T.M.U. Nanded. He was awarded the Ph.D. degree on ‘Omprakash Walmiki Ke Sahitya ka Anushilan’ by S.R.T. M.University, Nanded in 2017. He has published several papers in journals. He has attended many workshops, seminars & conferences.

Department of English:
The eminent persons headed the department in chronological order as follows:

1.Shri. B. S. Naik      1961 – 1967
2. Shri. S. D. Purushottam  1967 – 1983
3. Shri. V. K. Mirajkar  1983 – 2002
4. Miss. V. Hadgekar  2002 – 2003
5. Shri. S. D. Bhandare  2003 – 2005
6. Miss. M. M. Pandit  2005 – till date.

The first HOD of the department was Shri. B. S. Naik. He also worked as the Vice-Principal of the college. In 1967 Shri. S. D. Purushottam was appointed as the first HOD of the separated Dayanand Science College. Shri. V. K. Mirajkar took the charge of HOD in 1983. His contribution in teaching UG classes in Science College and PG course in Arts College is worth mentioning. His is a versatile personality. He motivated students to participate in cultural and literary activities as well as Youth Festival. He visited USA in 1985, under Group Study Exchange Programme of Rotary International. He received Ford Foundation-Theatre Academy, Travelling Scholarship in 1986. Under this scheme he visited West Bengal and particularly Kolkata to study Bengali Theatre. He is a noted actor, writer, director and dramatist. He actively involved in the activities of the cultural organization “Kalopasak Mandal” since 1974. He was transferred to Dayanand Arts College as Head, Dept. of English. He was appointed as the Vice Principal of Arts College in 2002. He was elevated to the post of Principal of Dayanand Arts College.

Miss. Varsha Hadgekar worked as a Lecturer on CHB (2002-03). In July 2003, Shri. S. D. Bhandare was appointed as Lecturer on CHB.
Miss. M. M. Pandit is leading the Department as Head. She has completed M.Phil. from Algappa University, Karaikudi, Tamilnadu. She is pursuing Ph.D. on ‘Cultural Chaos to Cosmic Consciousness : A Study of T.S.Eliot’s Poetry’. She has participated in various seminars, conferences and workshops. She has published research papers.

Name: Miss. M. M.Pandit
Designation: Assistant Professor
Qualification: M.A., B.Ed., M.Phil.
Bio-data: Download Here
Name: Dr. G. H. Bane
Designation: Assistant  Professor
Qualification: M.A., B.Ed., M.Phil., NET (JRF), Ph.D.
Bio-data: Download Here
Name: Dr. R.R.Shetkar
Designation: Assistant  Professor on C.H.B.
Qualification: M.A., M.Phil. Ph.D. NET (JRF)
Bio-data: Download Here
Designation: Peon

Programs & Courses The Department of English runs A Spoken English Course for UG Students.

Other activities
The inauguration of Literary and cultural Association was held on 7th September 2017.
The Department of Hindi celebrated ‘Hindi Divas’ on 14 September 2017.
The Department of English organized a guest lecture on ‘Communication in English : A Practical Experience’ on 05.01.2018
The Department of Marathi celebrated ‘Marathi Bhasha Sanvardhan Pandharwada’ during 1st to 15th January 2018.
The Department of Marathi celebrated ‘Marathi Bhasha Gaurav Din’ on 27th February 2018
The Department of Marathi organized Essay Competition
The Department of Languages organized ‘Vidyarthi Gunvishesh’ Programme.
Co-curricular Activities conducted by the Department
Research Center and Laboratories
List of research equipments procured through various funding agencies:Evaluation Report
Download English Department Evaluation Report
Download Hindi Department Evaluation Report
Download Marathi Department Evaluation Report